Pencil and Eraser combo for leather

As a newbie, I've been having to ask lots of questions of you more experienced folks. One of those was how to mark leather for cutting and design work. Some mentioned softly marking lines with a scribe, tracing tool or the like. I have trouble seeing lines marked that way and went in the direction of pencils....................only then I had to ask what kind of eraser to use to remove the pencil lines. None of the suggestions I was given worked for me. (I have no doubt they worked for many who suggested them..........just not for me) Anyway, I thought I'd share what I've come up with and am very happy to have found.

I found a KOH-I-NOOR pencil called "KOH-IN-ALL". It's a #1555. Works on multiple surfaces. Used softly so as not to indent the leather, it still produces a dark line I find easy to follow. But I was hesitant to use it because removing it from the leather was very difficult. Tried every eraser I could find. Used every fluid chemical I could find with no luck. Finally my little wife, who is an artist, suggested I try one of her erasers and it worked perfectly, leaving absolutely no pencil residue behind on the leather's surface. It's a TOMBOW brand Plastic Eraser called a MONO. She also had a Staedtler Plastic Eraser I tried that worked fine, so I'm sure any Plastic Eraser would work as well, so brand and name are unimportant. Anyway the combination of this pencil and eraser are a great solution to one of my "newbie" problems. Just had to share.

Edit:
I've had this pencil for so long I don't even know where I got it. Wanted to provide a link so folks who might be interested would know where to get one. Turns out it's considered an antique and is "collectable"!!! "No longer available". :( I've contacted several Artist's supply houses to see if anyone makes a pencil that replaces the one I have. I'll post that info as soon as I can find it.

Last edited: