Portable Sharpening Recommendations

Looking for a sharpening system that is portable enough to throw in a pouch on my plate carrier or pack.

Needs to be: light weight and able to sharpen blades of varying sizes (larger Busse’s to smaller pocket knives to multi-tools)

Any recommendations?

+ 1 for the worksharp field sharpener!

I’ve used it on 1095 , s35vn , Elmax , INFI , sr101 , D2 and sleipner .. 3 to 12 inch blades , with success.

Last edited:
Maybe I’m too “old school”, but I think that the best sharpening system are still my hands. ;) I’ve been using DMT butterfly blue/red sharpener for 10 years and it works just perfect. :thumbsup:

So I just started using the "Block" sharpener. Block is the guy that makes it and not the shape. I had been looking for something a long time like a field version of the knife honing steels I use in the kitchen. Especially with infi, I rarely need to actually take metal off. Usually it's just a touch up or to straiten something. I was using small ceramic or diamond rods, but I think this thing is really good for me. I tend to steel my knives a lot, but rarely sharpen them.

So I just started using the "Block" sharpener. Block is the guy that makes it and not the shape. I had been looking for something a long time like a field version of the knife honing steels I use in the kitchen. Especially with infi, I rarely need to actually take metal off. Usually it's just a touch up or to straiten something. I was using small ceramic or diamond rods, but I think this thing is really good for me. I tend to steel my knives a lot, but rarely sharpen them.

Have you used this sharpener on any Busses yet? If so which ones? It seems like a great idea and may work but I’ve had some thicker Zero Tolerance pocket knives I’ve scratched before with similar Products due to the thicker blade stock.

One of the main draws to me about INFI, especially in the ca. 2000-2008 run of models, is the way the INFI reacts to ceramic rods and loaded strops.