Price increase?

i was browsing through Emerson’s Website. It’s been a while since I looked through it but the Commander and Cqc-15 show a starting price of $260. Is it me or did prices increase?

The knives aren't worth the price. $150.00 - 175.00 maybe but not that. The increase is a money grab no more no less. Just my opinion of course.
I understand your position. As a business owner myself, I hope that the pricing reflects a desire of Mr. Emerson to reward his smallish staff in order that they have an enjoyable life. Knowing what I do about Ernie, I strongly suspect that is the case.

Its confusing because with the tariffs in place Emerson should be in a great position as a US company using US steel to profit with existing pricing. Inflation is stagnant here also, more stable than it has been. Seems the production companies are racing to see who can raise their prices the most?

The "poor/low value for the cost" argument is an old one with Emersons. It is one of the most common arguments against them - that the materials don't match the price and that for the same price X manufacturer gives better steel and handles and bearings etc. There are many possible reasons for the price increase. I'm not going to speculate on them.

However, 12-20 dollars more on some/all knives is not going to cut out many new buyers who were already not going to buy them since they can get a Reate or Kizer or Lionsteel or WE or whatever with "better" materials anyway. I think people who like or want an Emerson want it for the intangibles that have been much discussed here and elsewhere and are going to buy it regardless, as they have been. People who only want a knife equation that tallies up on paper properly are already out of the market for Emersons.

For those of us who appreciate the soul/essence of the knifemaker and what he puts into his product and not just the math of the materials, the price increase will likely not have much effect.