Question for Walosi/woodchucks

After reprofiling my old BAS I am ready to start the handle project, and I am having a few problems deciding on which wood to use. I am pretty sure I want to use Beige Koala Burl / Bud Burl for asthetic purposes only, the knife won't see any use. I have to place a pretty big order, $50, for them to ship to me, I should have enough wood left over to make a scabbard (we will see how well that turns out ;) :rolleyes: ) I was wondering how well will burl wood hold up under shaping with a file (will it be prone to chipping) and how difficult will shaping this wood be. This is my first project of this kind (other than making a "dummy" handle out of pine). Here is the kicker: the knife I reprofiled is a full curve, even the handle, now the issue of drilling a curved hole comes into play. My plan of action is to used a dremel round burr and just SLOWLY bore through the handle (I will be doing more praying than drilling). Here is a pic of the wood in question, it really is pretty (nothing compared to rhododenron burl though)
Tas_Bud_Burl_1.jpg

Thanks for all the help!
Matthew

Well...from what I know about taking apart 2 Daisen failures is that the kamis dont really drill a curved hole for the curved tang. They just drill a really big hole that the bent tang fits into and fill the sucker with laha, dosent weaken it a bit. As a matter of fact the argument could be made that the bent tang, big hole, and lots of laha provides more strength and 'springyness' to the handle than a perfectly straight one.

I dont know how to work with burl, I am being edjumacated in chuckery myself, but it sure is purdy!

Post pics if you possibly can. I am taking pics as I go along with my projects and eventually will mail the developed photos to someone for a neat forum slide show!

Dave -