Review: Chris Linton’s The Osprey Knife &Tool “Santuko”

8162713C-A6C8-45F1-9F94-0F028C5A2457.jpegdisclaimer: I am not a professional chef, but I’ve worked in several commercial kitchens. That’s called being a “Cook”
The Look: Ivory G10 with black micarta liners, one forward pin and one aft lanyard loop. Chris’s distinct departure from a classic santuko design is dramatically evident. I'm not sure what he would call it on this Santuko, but I’ve seen this referred to as a “poon tip” on various other knives. I like this look a lot and my friends in the food business give it plenty of “ooooohs and aaaaahs”
Steel: CPM154 [3/32] tapered tang
and full height convex grind on 3/32”. As Chris puts it .."No plunge lines, all blended together"
FE768FBD-F4A9-4B9E-B78A-2D2FF150FFB8.jpeg
Weight: a stout 8.3oz compared to 5.8oz with my Wüsthof chefs knife.
I didn’t take a photo to show it’s center point, but as it always is with Chris’s work, it’s spot on where it needs to be.
The Length: Just a hair under 10.75in.
14711073-C300-4C0E-9248-C284FCB1A91C.jpeg
The Feel: First, the G10 scales with Chris's treatment of sand/glass beading and then soaking with WD40 make for excellent grip retention. This is especially important when processing animal proteins. It is slightly, but for me noticeably heavier than any of my other knives in my roll. This is the knife telling me to pay close attention to what is in my hand and especially to what I am doing. I say this because I have some much lighter knives equally SAF that I've cut myself with. My Bad,.. but none the less I do pay close attention when I'm using the OK&T Santuko. I haven't had the opportunity to do any extended [3-4 hours] kitchen prep work in awhile so the jury is out as t whether or not the extra weight makes any difference in a 4 hour stretch. I do not believe it would but I'll definitely find out this summer. Suffice to say I'm still IN the learning curve.