Samurai swords and such. Searching for the right one.

So I'm new to swords. Never owned one. I know a bit about blades in general from destroying many, listening to others who know more than me, and learning what works well along the way.

Anyway, I'm trying to educate myself on Samurai swords. I want one that I can actually use, but I don't have a $1,000+ budget for it... Maybe for my second sword, but for now I'm still learning.
I've been reading the Sword Buying Guide and random threads on here, and have learned a lot, but recognize that the author of SBG has bias' and preferences like anyone else.
Does anyone have any advise or any other good resources that may help me in my research before I take the plunge and drop a handful of bills.

I like the feel and aesthetic of Katanas and Wakizashis over more western styles of swords. This sword will mostly be a wall hanger/show to friends piece, but I want to rest well knowing that if I needed to use it or wanted to play with it [train], I wouldn't have any problems with it. I typically buy nice things, as I'm too poor to spend money on crap. Any help on researching and finding a good looking durable piece that handles well would be much appreciated.

Cheers

I like those cheness 9260 spring steel ones sbg did the videos on cutting into the metal barrels. The dude that owns cheness can sell you warehouse blemished blades at discounted prices too, might not hurt to drop an email and ask.

I never bought it but was about to pull the trigger on a 33" o katana with a scratched saya for right at 200 bux. I felt that the properly heat treated spring mono steel would be the most functional and be able to take the most abuse.

I ended up buying 2 shikomizue though, one in 1045 carbon and the other in 1566. Both are decent water bottle and pool noodle cutters lol and actually make a decent albeit heavy walking stick. I did put some rubber on the bottom and some pool noodle down the saya though as one was rattling a bit.