1. Click here to enter the drawing for your chance to win an Ontario Knives Spec Plus SP8 Machete Survival Knife & Ka-Bar Dozier Folding Hunter, , Bladeforums.com swag or memberships!

Be sure to read the rules before entering, then help us decide next week's giveaway by hitting the poll in that thread! Entries close at midnight, Saturday Sept 7!

Once the entries close, we'll live stream the drawing on Sunday, Sept 8 at 5PM Eastern. Tune in to our YouTube channel TheRealBladeForums for a chance to win bonus prizes!

Questions? Comments? Post in the discussion thread here

How To Shapton Pro #320 Splash-n-Go ... clean it off or just add more water?

Discussion in 'Maintenance, Tinkering & Embellishment' started by At1Rest, Jul 9, 2019.

1. At1Rest

At1Rest

Apr 11, 2019
    Hi there,
    I'm just getting started with a new Shapton Pro 320 grit stone.
    Last night when reprofiling the main blade of a Bear MGC midsize stockman I was getting a fairly thick build up of ?!?!? ... what to call it ... mud? slurry? ... and wanted to ask about it.

It seemed like a good idea to spray it clean occasionally so that's what I was doing.
    Maybe it would be better to just add some water without totally cleaning it off?

How do you do it?

Thanks!

2. sickpuppy1

sickpuppy1 Basic Member Basic Member

Sep 27, 2018
    That slurry can scratch the surface your not trying to sharpen, so rinse it off and resume with a clean stone

At1Rest likes this.
  3. At1Rest

At1Rest

Apr 11, 2019
    ahhh ... never thought of that.

Thank you!

4. eKretz

eKretz

Aug 30, 2009
    I always remove it also. In addition to the above it seems to slow down cutting considerably if allowed to build up too much.

At1Rest likes this.
  5. At1Rest

At1Rest

Apr 11, 2019
    Thanks eKretz

6. Mr.Wizard

Mr.Wizard

Feb 28, 2015