• The rules for The Exchange can be found here. Please read and follow them. Stop using Paypal Friends & Family and follow our best practices to prevent getting ripped off or having a bad deal.

Should It Stay or Should It Go?

I got a brand new Case Sod Buster Jr today and there’s a hairline crack below one of the brass pins. Is this something I should be worried about getting bigger or should I just ignore it? I bought it from DLT Trading so I should be able to exchange it for another one, but that means another week or two to get a new one. Is this no big deal or is it a definite return? There’s already a slight patina on the blade from slicing a banana before I noticed the crack. What would you do? I’m cool with keeping it if the crack doesn’t pose a threat. I’m brand new to collecting knives, so I don’t know what is acceptable and not acceptable. Here are some pics of the crack:

vkWqc47.jpg

GAHPxLT.jpg

It's probably going to bug you, if it were me I'd send it back, the dealer can get an RMA from case for a refund or credit, so no loss to them. Also sending it back to them will eventually get the knife back to Case, and if they have enough of them returned, maybe they will try to rectify why this is occurring. Or it could just be an odd pin crack, which can happen with delrin handles.

DLT Trading has kind of a crappy return policy. I have to pay for shipping myself even though the item is defective, and there is a 5 day hold. Plus they want it in “100% unused” condition. I sliced a banana with it before i noticed the crack and it has a little bit of patina on it already. Also, I am completely broke till the 15th and can’t pay for shipping. (My fault for running myself out of money. That’s why I have a fiduciary).

Anyway, I think I’d just better keep it. If the crack gets bigger I can send it to Case. It doesn’t bother me that much.

Personally, I wouldn't worry about it. I'd consider that a (minor) cosmetic issue, since it doesn't affect functionality.