Small generator to run 2x72??

In an apartment currently with a garage. The garage is wired poorly. Gfci and my grinder trips it as soon as I turn it on. (Northridge pro)

I replaced the outlet with a standard one also from a 15a to a 20a but then it trips the garage next to mine.

I refuse to give up grinding and I can’t find a garage or shop to rent near me, found a couple one is $1800 a month. Anyways.

Anyone have experience with generators? Or running a 1.5 or 2 hp electric motor with a vfd off of one? I have no knowledge of generators whatsoever.
Ideally on the quieter side. Appreciate any and all help

Hi, I have the same problem. My garage has a GFCI outlet too and it wants to trip every time I grind. Huge pain in the butt.

That said, KB makes a model of drive that is GFCI comparable... I don't have one, but I have heard that they make one. It might be worth giving them a call, they might exchange the one you have...

I have a Honda 3000, and I love it. Pricey but it punches above its weight class and is incredibly quiet and reliable.

I have a 2000W Honda. I’ll plug it into my Black Fox w/ VFD tomorrow morning and see what happens. I’m 99% sure it will run fine.

Hi, I have the same problem. My garage has a GFCI outlet too and it wants to trip every time I grind. Huge pain in the butt.

That said, KB makes a model of drive that is GFCI comparable... I don't have one, but I have heard that they make one. It might be worth giving them a call, they might exchange the one you have...

Appreciate that but not sure they will let me exchange it. I can afford to buy a new Vfd but rather not if I can avoid it ha

I have a 2000W Honda. I’ll plug it into my Black Fox w/ VFD tomorrow morning and see what happens. I’m 99% sure it will run fine.

I appreciate it! Thank you, if you could lean into it with the flat platen I would be doubly grateful