Small Kukri ID

I ran across this small kukri at a secondhand shop today. Blade was maybe 9” .

I was hoping someone here could tell me if this a decent piece or a flea market knockoff.

the handle was acrylic with no exposed tang.

5e5aUBM.jpg

b2S8u8y.jpg

KfcQXFp.jpg

My Kukri knowledge is quite limited. If it is a ‘real’ Kukri, what would think is a fair price to offer. It did have the sheath but the store owner didn’t take it out of the case.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

I am not a expert, but I'd bet the handle was horn, rather than acrylic.
It looks to me to be a "tourist" khuk, but not badly made.

Serious collectors will be able to help, I'm sure.

I am not a expert, but I'd bet the handle was horn, rather than acrylic.
It looks to me to be a "tourist" khuk, but not badly made.

Serious collectors will be able to help, I'm sure.

Thanks. I didn’t even think of horn :rolleyes:. Apparently I know less than I thought I did. :p

I also think it looks like horn. How much were they wanting for it?

$60.

The store is fair with the prices on other items but this one, I had to bring here before pulling the trigger.

I figured this sub forum would be the place to ask so, even though it isn’t a HI. Thanks again.

It looks legit to me. If it were a tourist piece, it would probably have fancy junk added, like a carved lion head on the butt, or other useless adornments. Horn handle for sure. If it fits your hand well, and the weight feels good, and if you like it, I'd guess that $70 or less would be a good price. If you have a real use for the blade, like frequent camping or a lot of shrubbery to cut, then $90 or less would be a good price. That's just my opinion, of course.

If you bought a similar blade online it would probably cost more, and shipping would run $15 or higher, depending on where it was shipped from. If you compare it with a western style knife of similar size and quality that can also give you an idea of how much you want to spend on it.