Smallish fixed blade do-it-all knife

Hello everyone,

I've been kicking around the forums here for a couple of years looking at this and that, but this will be my first real post! I hope you can forgive any hiccups or mistakes but I'll try to keep everything in order.

As the title says, I'm in the market for what I would consider a smallish fixed blade to use as part of my EDC. I am a university student so this will likely be my only knife purchase for quite a while. Such a sad thought isn't it? But because of this I would like something that can handle pretty much anything I might come across. From cutting threads off of clothes, to kitchen tasks, to self defence to even some light camping duties if I'm lucky enough to get out into nature this summer.

Now I know this is quite a range of tasks, so perhaps some parameters would help.

I live up in Canada so there are no laws about blade length to contend with, but in Canada no person can carry with them any item that is intended to be used as a weapon, even in self defence. So pretty much anything tactical in appearance is out of the question.

As for the blade, I am looking for something around 3.75-4.25 inches long. Either carbon or stainless steel is fine as I can maintain either. I prefer larger folders so I am used to that size, and I figure I could do pretty much anything within reason with that much blade. Im not a big fan of serrations as I've just never found them to be very useful.

I also contend with some mild CP symptoms that make traction a little bit of a concern. Nothing major, but I am a big fan of good secure grip designs as a result.Thumb ramps or gimping, maybe a small finger guard, those sorts of things. Just in case.

Last thing I suppose I should mention is price range, because that can make a big difference in suggestions.