SOG Fulcrum I Fusion FL-11

s-l500.jpg

Hi Folks!

I'm new to the forum, new to knife throwing, and pretty much a novice with knives as a whole. My apologies if I manage to say something dumb!

Anyhow, I'm here because of the knives pictured above.

Came across these SOG Fulcrum Fusion knives on eBay. After realizing they'd been discontinued and failing to find any measurable information about the line on the internet, I decided to order the set. They'll be here next week but, in the meantime, I'm hoping one of you could shed some light on what these blades were about.

Do you have experience with them? Any details on why they were discontinued? Other than the finish and brass counterweight, they appear to be exactly like the current SOG Fling knives.

This video is the single largest source of information I could find, didn't really tell me too much.

I have no personal experience with them, but from the specs of 12.4" long and 12.5 oz, they meet the recommended criteria of "an ounce to the inch" weight to length ratio for reduced bounce back issues.. Unfortunately, if you loose the brass balancing nut, the weight ratio would drop.

I think the brass weight would have a tendency to come loose and shift - the inertia of a full speed throw would tend to cause the weight to loosen and shift.

The 2 negatives of these knives (to me, at least) that prevented me from even buying then just to check them out are the weight balancing slot and the steel - 420 stainless.

I dislike ANY holes in knives other than a "hanging hole" near the pommel. Holes and features such as the slot result in a stress point(s) that impact inertia would tend to cause the knife to snap on impact.

I have always disliked stainless steel for throwing knives. I have found them to be brittle and more likely to snap after some/many impacts. Some people like SS throwing knives but I don't.