Southern Grind Spider Monkey

Southern Grind Spider Monkey serial number 2023.

Like most people, I studied reviews on the Southern Grind Spider Monkey carefully before pulling the trigger. With one exception, the criticisms that others have shared about this knife don't line up with my experience, so I thought it might be worthwhile to offer my first review on this forum.

Fit and finish on my example, (serial number 2023) are excellent. All pieces fit together perfectly, no gaps where there shouldn't be, no grind marks where there shouldn't be, no rough edges.

The blade grind is excellent with the only slightest asymmetry on the secondary bevel. This requires close inspection to notice and is well into nit-picking territory.

Detent is firm, allowing for quick deployment from the thumb studs. Lockup is early but solid with no blade play in any direction. I don't experience anything I'd call lock stick. The blade will drop freely when the lock bar is released.

When slowly opening or closing the knife, there was some grittiness. This was apparently introduced by the detent ball sliding across the blade stock. I lived with this for about a week since it didn't bother me much. One evening I had some time to kill so I found some Hoppes gun oil and placed a drop on the pivot. I should have done that sooner. It was transformative. The action is glass smooth now. I've made no adjustments or alterations to the knife otherwise as none are needed- something I can't say about any other knife I own.

Ergos a great for my medium glove wearing hands. The pocket clip doesn't bother me while the knife is in hand.

Speaking of that pocket clip, It's very tight and requires deliberate effort to clip it to my jeans pocket. Once there, it's not going anywhere tough. I'd rather a pocket clip be too tight than too loose. Still, I find that I carry this one in the bottom of my pocket most of the time. Its small enough to go unnoticed there.