Steevee's WIP-ZONE

Hello!

Not sure if anyone cares for knifemakers with such small name as myself but I thought that it won't hurt to post it. Somehow this projest got me more excited than usually.

I had piece of O1 laying around that would make an awesome chopper... So I started drawing and ended up with this...

SEgTKHJ.jpg

But I already made a lot of knives with harpoon style swedge and there is gazillion of those made by other makers, so I tried to figure out something a little different. I came up with this...
iJAzO5e.jpg

And fell in love with those lines. Got it heat treated same day

kCiBrtS.jpg

Today I cleaned it up
o4kI4d5.jpg

Now It's time for the guard and handle, but I'd like to share with You some blade details first:
A5lx3H8.jpg
KHShJog.jpg
bmyCBj0.jpg
RHZCptK.jpg

EjTWpVF.jpg

...And here's a drawing of the whole project:
4AzsIyV.jpg

I'm planing to make fatigued look brass guard and green burlap micarta handle.

More updates coming soon

Cheers!

So I was working on the guard yesterday...

Pretty happy about the fit up.
oSNgz2Y.jpg
H3qG7LG.jpg

Now it's time to grind it to shape.
wcM9zct.jpg

uUBQiYA.jpg

Since every surface is prepared for stonewash, I can start sculpting.

The face of upper guard got to be first.
563WJcG.jpg

Then I can make inner parts of the guard.
Legxii8.jpg
l4LLcmh.jpg

It's starting to look like something ;)
WiqI5Md.jpg

Side grooves done and everything blended in together.
GRi1cBS.jpg

And there it goes into my super-duper stoneash mashine :D
Dzs7XR9.jpg

Here's all finished up.
xus44Gq.jpg

But...
Lines between lower guard radius and side groove were closer to each other than on the upper guard. I had mixed feelings about it, so I took few steps back and fixed it.

sv7sXOr.jpg

I'm done with it for now, next step- making the handle.

Last edited:
That is amazing! Is the grind on one side convex and on the other side hollow, or am I just seeing it wrong? (next to last photo in your first post) I love it, regardless!