Stropping a blade?

I am totally new to using a strop. Can you use an old belt or guitar strap as a strop? If so, anything else I need--like compound for the leather? What kind of compound?

Any advice or tips would be much appreciated.

I use an old leather belt (heavy, real leather) for finishing and touch up, once I have sharpened.
I'm sure some more knowledgeable members can give you more in depth info than I can.

I am totally new to using a strop. Can you use an old belt or guitar strap as a strop? If so, anything else I need--like compound for the leather? What kind of compound?

Yep, you can use any type of leather but the results will vary depending on the type of grit you use on it. Additionally, you can use cardboard, fiberboard, denim...lots of things. I have even heard of old-timers using their own leathery skin (although that may be an urban/rural legend)!

I use a heavy leather belt and some compound as a strop. The pinned thread in the Maintenance, Tinkering, and Embellishment forum here helped me out a lot when I was starting out with stropping, and Whitty's videos on his USA Made Blade youtube channel have some great tips on stropping too.

For stropping with compound, I've been happy with stropping on cardboard strips as well as stropping on a leather paddle strop. I actually find the cardboard strips seem to work a little faster.

For stropping without compound, I've been happy with wrapping a whetstone with newspaper and doing it Murray Carter style, and also stropping on the palm of my hand. I also left a section of my paddle strop, and one strip of cardboard, unloaded, for finishing touches.

Hi,
What kind of sharpening stone(s) do you have?
Why are you stropping?
What blade are you trying to strop?