Stropping on cardboard?

I work in a warehouse and use my Spyderco Native 5 S35V often to cut a variety of materials - cardboard, plastic wrap, plastic
straps, rubber hoses. Occasionally I strop it on corrugated cardboard from a box. It seems to work well.
Anybody else use this? What are your thoughts?

Have worn holes in my jeans and fronts of sweat shirts from stropping. Just ironed a new jeans patch on some shorts and figure I’ve got a few more years with those shorts.

I've had success using all sorts of materials for quick touch up stropping. I'm not sure if the impromptu stropping resets the edge or simply cleans off accumulated junk. If it works there is nothing wrong with it.

I think it simply straightens out some curling/ burrs on the edge. Thus, giving you some more use. My leather boot top does the best.
But a strop a fixed to a hard backing with grit added does the best on shaping up a used edge. DM

If the goal is to strip away loose burr remnants or to realign a slightly rolled edge, almost anything can be used as an effective strop for that. Cardboard, paper, fabric (firmly backed), leather, wood, etc can work.

Depending on the steel being stropped, some 'dirty' cardboard with fine, sandy dust on it can even hone/sharpen a little bit. Can actually see how the sandy 'grit' scratches the steel. I see that with some of my knives in simpler steels like 1095, CV and 420HC, stropped on heavy cardboard with our gritty southwestern silica-based sandy dust on it (I live in NM). I've also noticed a similar effect stropping on bare MDF, for the same reason (it's dusty).

Last edited:
Have worn holes in my jeans and fronts of sweat shirts from stropping. Just ironed a new jeans patch on some shorts and figure I’ve got a few more years with those shorts.