Tell A Little About Yourself

Discussion in 'JK Handmade Knives' started by JK Knives, Jul 31, 2020 at 4:30 PM.

  1. JK Knives

    JK Knives Moderator Moderator Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

    Mar 6, 2001
    This is your chance to tell us a little about yourself. We did this several years ago, but there are new people here.
    Here goes
    I’m John, soon to turn 67 in a few weeks. I’m married to Connie, it will be 33 years in December. I have 3 daughters and 4 grandchildren, and 4 dogs.
    In my former life I worked for a seal manufacturer for 37 years, until production was moved out of the county. Since then I’ve been making knives full time since 2008.
    If you want to you can also explain how you chose your forum name, mine kind of explains itself.
     
    Rob Babcock and f1addict like this.
  2. f1addict

    f1addict Gold Member Gold Member

    138
    Feb 10, 2017
    Great idea! Since I’m probably the newest (of one of the newest), I’ll jump in.

    I’m Michael, and just turned 50 this year. Married to Alma for more than 20 years, and we have 2 sons.

    I have been in the automotive retail industry all of my life, started after graduating LSU (grew up in Louisiana). I currently manage a dealership in New Braunfels, TX. Ever since I was a young kid, I was “into” cars and motorcycles. Got into motorcycles at a very early age, and what I currently do allows me to be around cars all day long.

    Got very interested in watching Formula 1 racing when I was 17 years old. I have never stopped watching, and love almost every aspect of that sport. Taken Alma and the boys to see several races, and now we are fortunate that we have a race in Austin, TX. I have a whole write up about that in the “Whatever” thread, post #8454. But that is where my screen name of “f1addict” came from. Go Tifosi!!!

    Alma and I both enjoy cooking and grilling, so it is very rare that we “eat out” (even under normal circumstances). She can cook some of the best Mexican cuisine I have ever imagined, and very good at Italian, Mediterranean and Indian as well. I have quite a few Cajun dishes that I enjoy making, as well as smoking a brisket, ribs, chicken, turkey or pork on the side fire-box smoker that my brother in-law made for me 7 years ago.

    Also enjoy photography, hunting and fishing. Most of my hunting is for Whitetail deer (during season of course). Started with archery hunting about a year and half ago. One doe so far, not counting the squirrel a few weeks ago. I will probably start doing more Turkey hunting, and to hunt for Elk in on my bucket list.

    LOL, most of my posts are short and to the point!! Not this one!

    Anyway, I want to thank John for the outstanding work he does, and creating this little corner of BF. I’ve enjoyed being here!
     
  3. mqqn

    mqqn Gold Member Gold Member

    Nov 12, 2009
    I am Andy - Married to Maggie for 29 years this past June. Two grown children and 5 grandchildren, one of them has been driving and is a Senior in High School. (2 girls and three boys).

    I am in computers - now in the waning portion of my career in Software Asset Management, but I led teams of Database Administrators for almost 20 years prior. I have been at the current company for 31 years. I am 58.

    I love motorcycles, drag racing and fast cars, knives, firearms, bird watching, photography, playing darts, disc golf and Jack Daniels.

    I live in south central TN, but originally was born in Oklahoma and have lived in Illinois, Buffalo NY, and now down here where I intend to stay and retire.

    best

    mqqn
     
  4. bikerector

    bikerector KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

    Nov 16, 2016
    These are always fun.

    I've been a food safety specialist of sorts for 10 years, normally focused around the microbiology lab and weighing in on production and quality practices more or less as the scientific expert for the couple different companies I've worked for. I spent 2 years in product development and process engineering for a nutritional supplement company that made products for animals and people and I specialized in developing their soft chew product line and helped build the production line they now use along with putting in the development plan for what they are now using several years later after I left the company to go back to school.

    I'm currently working towards a new role along the lines of organizational health or essentially continuous improvement focusing on the people development aspect. I would love to get into consulting but the travel can be annoying as is getting into a company just to learn the ropes, especially in my area that is all industries I have little experience in and my wife is the bread-winner of the family anyway.

    I used to run a bicycle race team and website that did event reviews, product reviews, and pretty much anything else I could use to leverage for sponsorship for my racing. The website was cyclingandsuffering.com but I ended that after heading back to school several years ago. I was also getting a little supplemental income as a coach and personal trainer around cycling as a USAC certified coach. It was fun but time-consuming and after moving to the other side of Michigan and then deciding to go to school I really needed to pull the plug to start a new chapter in life.

    Now, I'm trying to get the Good Knife Company running bigger and better at a really weird time in our national and global history. Part of it is to gain experience so that when an opportunity arrives for something bigger I can take that plunge while also seeing how much I can grow this to where this may be the opportunity I needed to take. I believe my calling is to help people's lives through business, or work, and while doing that as a manager or leader in a company is satisfying I have a strong drive to do it from a higher-level so that's the path I've set out on through two different paths, my current primary occupation and then again through Good Knife Company. I really hope to get to the point in a few years to where my profits can help support some employees and partners but for now, just networking with some of the fine folks in the knife community has been very enjoyable and fulfilling even if the times are a bit strange to try and launch a company with such uncertainty in the economy.

    My hobbies are centered around getting out of the house and now getting out of the house with the family. I suppose learning might as well be a hobby at this point as I spend a lot of time trying to absorb as much info as I can on leadership and taking care of people through business even if it's not being applied as much in my current job. I love the philosophy and psychology of what motivates and drives people along with how to influence and encourage people to want better. It is very similar to what I did as a coach but instead of being centered around sports, it's centered around work.

    I'm also known for typing long messages in forum threads and emails :)
     
    B JACKSON, woodysone, mqqn and 2 others like this.

Share This Page