The Fighting Knife

Christof --

I lost our conversation about the Applegate-Fairbairn knife and thought I'd bring it up here.

From what I've read and discussions I've had with those who train with fighting knives, I like the philosophy behind the A-F knife. The blade is of sufficient length to cause a lethal wound. The double edge allows better penetration of the target as well as serving to 'cut both ways'. The handle was designed to keep it from rolling in the hand and allow a degree of 'indexing.' The hilt protects the hand from sliding forward on the blade. This is what I've gathered from my 'research', not being an expert myself.

It's interesting how many similar-type knives there were to the A-F, the Fairbairn-Sykes and V-42 being obvious examples. The design is probably as old as knapped flints. I have some illustrations in Firearms, Traps, and Tools of the Mountain Men by Russell picturing similar double edges knives and 'dags' used by explorers as well as indigenous peoples.

I'd be interested in hearing other's thoughts on this style of knife and maybe work toward designing a Koyote version of the fighting knife.

I like the Idea of a Koyote Custom's Fairbairn Sykes Dagger Rendition by Christof, I've alway's wanted a Nice one ! I have a Copy a Friend gave me a Long Time ago, I'll get some picture's of It here In awhile, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairbairn-Sykes_Fighting_Knife

maf3p5.jpg

1j2gao.jpg

Here's my Made In China Copy, It's Marked Hanwei with a small makers mark by the name, And Dalian China "That's all the Marking's, It's 12 9/16" Total with a 7 1/4" Blade, It's 1/8" Thick & 6/8" Wide below the Handguard and tapers on from there, The Handle Is Made of Leather "Real Thin Washer's"

2z6e7o5.jpg

sb6848.jpg