The Saber Grind Struggle

Hello,

I am new to knife making and this forum.

But I’m hoping to pick anyones brain who can offer some help!

I’ve been using a similar jig that J.Keeton put together (2x2 piece of angle steel) with a bolt to adjust the angle.

And so far my bevels are spot on... Except when it gets to the tip of my blade where the bevel narrows or tapers.

48681301721_8990296fd9_o_d.jpg

I feel like this might be a pressure issue in that I’m not apply pressure evenly throughout the grind... Or in your experience could it be something else?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Are you hollow grinding this with a jig, or flat grinding it? If hollow grinding (on a contact wheel), the difference in height is from the changing contact point on the wheel, causing the bevel angle to get steeper as the tip drops.

If you're flat grinding the bevel on a platen, can we see a pic of the edge looking down towards the spine?

remember the higher you bring the grind toward the spine, the easier it will slice. saber swords are mainly for stabbing/chopping motions. the grind only goes 1/2 way up the blade because the sword is long and thin, and need that extra metal for strength so it wont bend.

But I’m hoping to pick anyones brain who can offer some help!
And so far my bevels are spot on... Except when it gets to the tip of my blade where the bevel narrows or tapers.
Yes , you are pulling blade too far and maybe too late . Try to leave tip for end , grind first flat part till you get grinding line high as you want then work on belly and tip from both to get them symmetrical .....

Turning/pulling the knife out too far when reaching the tip. Try just keeping it in line with the belt the whole time
I would just add this .......... my grinding stop with tip in middle of belt , I never pass that point with tip of blade .