Thrust Bearings vs Bronze Washers

Dumb question, but I'm new to all this, so please forgive me.

Is "thrust bearings" just a fancy marketing name for phosphor bronzer washers, or is there an actual difference between the two?

I could open my knife up to find out, but that would void the warranty.

Thanks in advance.

Yeah, they're fundamentally different. I wouldn't call a thrust bearing an upgrade though. I prefer washers personally. Generally not quite as smooth but require less maintenance.

Thrust bearings in knives have lots of little parts, similar to ball bearings, while bronze washers are a form of "plain bearing" which is far simpler, just a flat disc with a hole in the center.

Proper terms are 'bronze bushing' or 'friction bearing ' as opposed to 'ball bearing' or 'roller bearing ' .A thrust bearing is a bearing designed to deal with thrust forces parallel to the shaft.

Thrust bearings can be ball or roller.IIRC the rollers of big thrust bearings can weigh 5 pounds !! => for your BIG knives !!

Thanks to everyone for the clarification. I either misunderstood something said in a YouTube video or didn't realize it was said in sarcasm. I get it now :)

Thanks again.

What knife do you have? Here's some visualization for you...

I've witnessed these being referred to as "thrust" or "roller" bearings:
0_128f89_e89d0e44_L.jpg

I've also witnessed these being referred to as "thrust" or "caged" bearings (caged being more common):
knife-pivot-bearings-knife-technology-explained-7.jpg

IKBS (note how the balls are loose):
IKBS$20How$20To$20024.jpg

And in sure you know what a washer looks like;):D

BB,retainer is proper , cage is common. Those rollers are straight , the big ones are tapered .

Just to keep you guys on the straight an narrow !

Proper terms are 'bronze bushing' or 'friction bearing ' as opposed to 'ball bearing' or 'roller bearing ' .A thrust bearing is a bearing designed to deal with thrust forces parallel to the shaft.