Too much compound on my strop?

BJ987

Gold Member
Total newb here to stropping, semi-newb to general sharpening. Got a little strop kit online, watched some videos and applied the compound like coloring with a crayon (only came with 1 green compound) to the smoother side, as I don't use my knives hard enough ATM that their edges are "dull". Also, wanted to minimize risk of messing up any edges with my first go around.

Here's some pics. Can an experienced "stropper" comment if I used too compound? Or any other criticisms on how I applied it?

jBcXcS1.jpg

XsECPmD.jpg

I'm no expert but it looks a little heavy on the compound to me. Let's say what you did is 10/10.

I would aim for 8.5/10 next time.

Stropping, estimating blade angles, getting it sharp, etc all comes with experience. If you have some cheap beater knives, practice on those first. If don't have a beater knife, now is time to spend $3 at Walmart for a *ahem* POS knife to practice sharpening on.

Don't worry about messing up. We did it and most of us still make mistakes.

Here's one I got with a knife purchase. You can compare yours to one that comes preloaded. IMO, yeah it's way over compounded.

QFUGqeO.jpg

I'm no expert but it looks a little heavy on the compound to me. Let's say what you did is 10/10.

I would aim for 8.5/10 next time.

Stropping, estimating blade angles, getting it sharp, etc all comes with experience. If you have some cheap beater knives, practice on those first. If don't have a beater knife, now is time to spend $3 at Walmart for a *ahem* POS knife to practice sharpening on.

Don't worry about messing up. We did it and most of us still make mistakes.
SMH... I knew it was too much:(... Should I still use it till it goes down naturally or try to take some of the compound off??