Tool Arm, KMG vs DD Extreme?

Hoping to get some opinions before I shell out some (serious) money for one of these tool rests. I'm planning to try my hand at scandi grinding, and one of these tool rests seems like a more practical/versatile idea than cobbling together jigs. I have the older, "classic" style KMG. The DD Extreme seems like a nice piece, but expensive! I'm wondering if it's a better choice than the tool arm that's now being offered by Beaumont. Thoughts?

- matthew

i own the DD rest. its ok but has a slight movement or wiggle if you press too hard on it while grinding. the kmg looks nice, but i have no experience with it.

John, thanks for the insight. I read in older threads that the DD had some play, but I assumed it had probably be corrected. Apparently not ...

I've also wondered about the Northridge RAT arm. Don't know if it's plug and play with the older KMG.

I was just ogling the new KMG tool rest myself. Simple adapter lets it work with the classic KMG, which is nice.
However, I saw some clever stuff at Blade, and decided that with a cheap electronic angle finder and a simple square holding jig, I could tilt the platen repeatably for that kind of grinding and get most of the way there for $20 and some scrap steel. Just finished the holding jig yesterday, haven't tried it yet. Slower to mess with? Yes, but also many fewer degrees of freedom to worry about. (yeah, I still want the fancy tool rest, but ~$300 and out of stock)