Traditional wallet vs. minimalist vs. other?

Here is my dilemma: I have carried the traditional leather tri-fold wallet since day one. My pockets are bursting with stuff... keys, phone, pocket knife, notepads, etc. I am looking at going to a satchel (man purse?) to get some stuff, but not all, off body.

For those that rock the minimalist wallets, what do you keep in the wallet and what is carried else where? How do I "thin the herd" so to speak? I'm a writer and journal a lot, so the satchel will have my tablets and pens in, and perhaps I will keep my phone in there as well. Its a work in progress.

Thanks for the replies!

I have a Kisetsu Natsu. It's really tiny, holds 7 cards, 4-6 coins and 5 notes.

Here is my dilemma: I have carried the traditional leather tri-fold wallet since day one. My pockets are bursting with stuff... keys, phone, pocket knife, notepads, etc. I am looking at going to a satchel (man purse?) to get some stuff, but not all, off body.

For those that rock the minimalist wallets, what do you keep in the wallet and what is carried else where? How do I "thin the herd" so to speak? I'm a writer and journal a lot, so the satchel will have my tablets and pens in, and perhaps I will keep my phone in there as well. Its a work in progress.

Thanks for the replies!
I carry an RFid bifold which is much more compact than my old leather wallet 20201227_121652.jpg

I carry the Tom Binh Nik's minimalist wallet. It holds 8-10 cards, and has an integrated elastic band to hold it shut. If I have cash, I usually fold it between the two sides, and the elastic band keeps it all together.

Before that, I had been carrying a cheap bi-fold business card holder that eventually fell apart. Here's the review that convinced me to get it: https://everyday-commentary.squares...9/2/10/tom-bohn-niks-minimalist-wallet-review

Recently got one of these:
https://craftandlore.com/products/the-port-wallet

I am loving it. Right now as I type this out, I have this in it: