Tutorial: Making a Pancake Style Sheath and Burnishing

Hi all, I've seen a multitude of posts about the various stages of sheath making from getting started to making that glassy edge that we all strive for. While I'm by no means an expert, I do like to study process and continuously refine what I'm doing to make each product better than the last. In finding this subforum, I've spent time looking at some of the tutorials and found them very informative with great information and pictures to follow along. Since some of the photos become unavailable over time, I thought I would put together a simple, step-by-step walkthrough of one way a sheath can be made by hand from start to finish using the most basic leather tools without relying on any photos. The idea is that someone could print this post and lay it down on their workspace and follow along as the project takes shape. I'll caveat that this process is overkill in several ways and I've even gone away from some of these steps as I've added specialty tools and started using different products. However, if you follow the process step by step you will learn a great deal about the properties of leather and the various products in leather making. This is not the "right way" to make a sheath, just "a" way and whether a beginner or a pro there may be a step or two here where you can pick up a tip to make your finished product just a little bit better. Thanks for everyone who contributes here and I love seeing all the finished products and sharing of knowledge.

Cheers,

Justen

Leather Sheath for a knife

1. Trace the sheath pattern on the leather

2. Mark the center line on the back of the leather

3. Rough cut out your pieces (sheath and welt)

4. Wet the leather and allow water to soak in a few minutes (H2O can be sprayed on, submerged briefly)

5. Set wing dividers to create a border around the sheath for the stamp guideline

6. Stamp around the border and use a beveller to pronounce the stamp border if desired