UCO Stormproof Matches Torture Test

I have been using these matches for a few years now. As far as matches go, they are the best ones I have used.

[video=youtube;wMDITA6WKzM]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wMDITA6WKzM&feature=c4-overview&list=UUnHwxnLdWlkpvCrfwGoPZ9Q[/video]

I also got the optional waterproof match case. It is pretty well made for being plastic. I did a few mods so it can be secured to your person.

This is the bottom of the case. I took a small piece of 550 and used some epoxy to secure it to the container.

uco3_zps0c7e7478.jpg

Did the same for the top.

uco2_zpsb000ae5b.jpg

The lanyard is attached at the bottom of the case, and runs through the loop on the lid. This keeps the whole package together.

UCOMatchpic_zps6ad722c3.jpg

The case is waterproof as advertised. I chopped a hole in the ice and submerged it for about a half an hour.

UCO1_zps3efccc2e.jpg

Great vid, I have two of the yellow UCO Cases with Matches, They are a great survival item, I put some of the matches and the striker strip in a small plastic bag as well for my mini kit.

Pretty impressive for an inexpensive plastic container. One could always wrap duct tape around it for increased structural integrity, and to have a little extra duct tape on hand.

The UCO container is strong, and it has an O ring to keep out water, If you carry it in a pocket or RuckSack, I don't think there could be an issue with it breaking.

The UCO container is strong, and it has an O ring to keep out water, If you carry it in a pocket or RuckSack, I don't think there could be an issue with it breaking.

Agreed. I have one as well, and it is solid short of doing something stupid with it. But I'm always looking for convenient ways to add a little duck tape to kits. :D