Vest/Knife Question for Mick and Duane

What LBV setup do you use with an M4 and how do you attach or otherwise carry your knife (or knives)? Thank you.

Speaking only for myself, I believe the Patrol vest that SOE makes is an excellent platform. I am not a CQB expert and this is a good topic, if Pat Rogers has his ears on, a word from him would be great here as well as Micks. Also, though he may not be subtle, Vince Palucci is another wjo has been through every modern course offered on this topic as well as having carried this system in combat. A word from Vince would be great also.
I'm so old, my loadout is still made of canvas M14 pouches!
Duane

Thanks, Duane. I, too, have a set of OD cotton duck 782 gear and my green utility cover. From a life long ago in a galaxy far, far away...

Mick posted something on the SOE forum on www.tacicalforums.com; however, it was before the cut-off date for archiving. I had it saved; however, that was two hard drives ago.:(

SSN664

Force uses the FSBE vest due to the amphibious nature of it's work.
I carry a DB on the holster shrouud of my 6004. It is easily reachable and secure.
I carry a GB in mt assault suit pocket.

Hope this helps!

SSN664,
any answer I give here must first be screened by John Hollister to sort out what is hearsay and what is the truth, because he knows everything. So I'll schedule a post around his time line so you can get a nice color coded post with nothing but the truth according to John.

Vinnie

I too am also curious how guys in the field carry their Striders. I have a Blackhawk Omega vest, and have been wondering how I'm going to rig it up when I get back from K-9 school (where I'm currently at).

Phil the SP

Phil,

The vest is not a place to carry a knfe. In the field, the knife belongs with your Line 1 equipment. It normally rides on your trouser belt.
Even if you have to ditch everything your vest, war belt etc, you will still have your knife and E&E kit with you.

Pat,