1. Click here to enter the drawing for your chance to win an Ontario Knives Spec Plus SP8 Machete Survival Knife & Ka-Bar Dozier Folding Hunter, , Bladeforums.com swag or memberships!

Be sure to read the rules before entering, then help us decide next week's giveaway by hitting the poll in that thread! Entries close at midnight, Saturday Sept 7!

Once the entries close, we'll live stream the drawing on Sunday, Sept 8 at 5PM Eastern. Tune in to our YouTube channel TheRealBladeForums for a chance to win bonus prizes!

Questions? Comments? Post in the discussion thread here

What's a good midway between D2 & W2 steel?

Discussion in 'Shop Talk - BladeSmith Questions and Answers' started by John347, Jul 24, 2019.

1. John347

John347

Jul 24, 2019
    Sorry if I'm making this thread on the wrong part of the site, I'm new to this.

I really like the hair popping, scary sharp edge W2 can take, but also like D2's edge retention.
    Is there a good midway high carbon steel out there for this?

Thanks!

2. Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith

Stacy E. Apelt - Bladesmith ilmarinen - MODERATOR Moderator Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Aug 20, 2004
    O-1

3. DevinT

DevinT KnifeMaker / Craftsman / Service Provider Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Jan 29, 2010
    A2

Ocelot85, shqxk and DeadboxHero like this.
  4. Nathan the Machinist

Nathan the Machinist KnifeMaker / Machinist / Evil Genius Moderator Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Feb 13, 2007
    I'll second O1 and A2.

O1 probably has a little better fine edge stability, A2 is less messy to heat treat and has a little better rust resistance. They're similar steels that fall midway between W2 and D2.

Ocelot85 likes this.
  5. Willie71

Willie71 Warren J. Krywko. Part Time Knifemaker Knifemaker / Craftsman / Service Provider

Feb 23, 2013