Which oil should I use?

Can anyone please advise which is the best oil to apply to a new wooden knife handle? It is made from ebony.

I've read various items on the internet & the two most common ones being mentioned are Boiled Linseed oil or Danish oil.

Anyone got any helpful suggestions please as to the pros & cons of these?

I mainly use my knife in snowy & rainy weather.

That sounds like a fairly harsh environment. Are you sure you want an oil finish? Something like cyanoacrylate might hold up better I think.

The problem with cyanoacrylate is that it's not going to be a smooth finish.

I don't know oil I would use as I have never used oil's before but I wood been leaning more towards's an oil that way you can retreat the wood and no have to worry about messing up the finish.

wade7575 wade7575 CA takes a high polish.

IMG_8298_zpsc1aa1487.jpg

I like Linseed Oil or Boiled Linseed Oil followed with beeswax and mineral oil. Then just an occasional beeswax and mineral oil application (maybe once a year or so - more often for heavy use) to help seal against the elements. The Helle folder below was treated with three coats of BLO and then 3 applications of beeswax and mineral oil. The only down sides I can think of is that the treatment will darken and yellow the wood a bit (I rather like it), and periodic maintenance. The up side is that the finish is easy to repair and very comfortably smooth but not slick. This is also what I use on my axe hafts and I just refinished a rifle stock this way.

IMG-6311.jpg

Edit: This is what the knife looked like before I did anything to it:
IMG-5060.jpg

Last edited:
we have expensive ebony items and have used almond oil for decades, indoors. We put linseed on rosewood.

I generally use mineral oil on most of my wood handles, but if I were using primarily in wet weather or snow, I'd apply a wax product.
(I've had a can of Ren Wax on hand for years but there are other options that should serve well.)