Which Rockstead folder for heavy use?

Hello everyone, I'm new here. I'm planning a long term cycle-camping trip and I want to kit myself out with a Rockstead folder. It will get some marks and scratches but I have to have a Rockstead, no ifs or buts. I won't wreck it with batoning but it will get daily use and I'll send it back to Japan for sharpening when necessary. I'd prefer one of the larger ones, 8.5 or 9 cm, which narrows the choice down a little. What I need help with is understanding the big price differences between similar sized models. Is it to do with the type of steel, or whether the blade is laminated, or the workmanship in the handle, or what? For example, how come this Shin https://www.rockstead.jp/collection/detail.html?id=111&category=knife is not much more than half the price of this Tei? https://www.rockstead.jp/collection/detail.html?id=113&category=knife I'm not an expert so I have no idea what the relative merits are of YXR7 vs ZDP 189 and so on. Aesthetically I'm drawn to this Sai Tanto https://www.rockstead.jp/collection/detail.html?id=311&category=knife but I shouldn't buy something I don't understand just because it looks pretty.

Edit: sorry about the links to a dealer in my first edit. I hope the links to rockstead.jp are acceptable.

Last edited:
The Aflac Duck The Aflac Duck has a rockstead or 2.
I know for a fact one has been used Very hard and it has held up great.

I would love to purchase a rockstead. But sadly it's out of my price range at the moment.
I saw a few prototypes at bladeshow, that I definitely will save for.

As far as I know the YXR7 is a high speed tool steel with excellent wear resistance and edge holding and can reach high hardness. This likely will increase prices on some models.

My vote would be for the Shu (reviewed) or...
l2PtSwz.jpg

the Higo II with a titanium handle
timthumb.php