Who has the BEST can opener?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’ve been using the can opener on a Vic Recruit for the past 10 years and it’s going strong. Maybe not the answer you’re looking for, but it works great for me.

I had the same problem as you, but maybe this can fill the bill: SWING-AWAY, made in USA, used to be the best can opener on the market, but after 50 years, they went out of business maybe 10 years ago. I used to own one, but after long years and lots of abuse and neglect (not by me, but a female family member who shall remain nameless:rolleyes:), it finally became useless. However, the plant was reopened a few years later by a cooperative of former Swing-Away workers, and went back into production, renamed EZ-DUZ-IT. It doesn't have quite the finesse of the original, but is close enough, in some ways maybe tougher. I have had one of those for some years now, and it has held up as well as the original. Check it out.

Last edited:
I had the same problem as you, but maybe this may fill the bill: SWING-AWAY, made in USA, used to be the best can opener on the market, but after 50 years, they went out of business maybe 10 years ago. I used to own one, but after long years and lots of abuse and neglect (not by me, but a female family member who shall remain nameless:rolleyes:), it finally became useless. However, the plant was reopened a few years later by a cooperative of former Swing-Away workers, and went back into production, renamed EZ-DUZ-IT. It doesn't have quite the finesse of the original, but is close enough, in some ways maybe tougher. I have had one of those for some years now, and it has held up as well as the original. Check it out.
I've got a swingaway handheld from my grandparents and while it works great and is extrmely rugged it's takes a lot of force to turn it.
By far the best handheld can opener I've ever used is an old EKKO which has 2 gears and opens cans effortlessly.