Why can't I cut paper?

Sharpened my santoku knife (some garbage knife I got for free online) on a 1000/6000 whetstone. I can slice a tomato super thin without having to hold the tomato.

Whenever I try to cut newspaper, the newspaper bends or doesn't get shredded properly. Is there a certain technique to cutting newspaper or is my knife just not "newspaper" sharp? Does it matter? It seems pretty stinking sharp to me. I'm a home cook, I cook maybe twice a week, I'm vegetarian, my best knife is an Ikea 365+ santoku knife. The sharpest one is this free one I got in a trade and just sharpened up, so technically that's my Best knife, I'm just saying the Ikea one is my favorite and will soon also be sharpened.

It can be anything from the grain in the paper to how fast or slow you try to cut it ... to it may be a bit of the burr not removed completely from your edge ... but if you are slicing tomatoes without issue it is probably the paper or some factor on the angle you are holding the knife to the grain of the paper. Try turning the paper from what would be the side to the top or bottom and cut ... or angle your knife blade and try to cut it that way ... you may get different results. If you attempt to cut paper at a 90% angle it takes a very sharp edge and going slow in some case or it can tear if you are doing push cuts.

It can be anything from the grain in the paper to how fast or slow you try to cut it ... to it may be a bit of the burr not removed completely from your edge ... but if you are slicing tomatoes without issue it is probably the paper or some factor on the angle you are holding the knife to the grain of the paper. Try turning the paper from what would be the side to the top or bottom and cut ... or angle your knife blade and try to cut it that way ... you may get different results. If you attempt to cut paper at a 90% angle it takes a very sharp edge and going slow in some case or it can tear if you are doing push cuts.