why does it feel like my knife is getting more dull everytime i try to sharpen it

hey so im new to like the pocket knife thing and i recently bought a CRTK m16 o1s for my self as it was pretty cheap and looked good so ive had it for like 3 weeks now and its pretty dull so i try to sharpen it after i look some videos up like i tried a nail buffer shit like that but i dont wanna sink like another 20 bucks into a whetstone,so any tips and tricks???

With sharpening the key is consistency. If you are hitting different angles on different parts of the blade you are not going to get results.
If you wan't to get the most out of this hobby spend the cash on a decent sharpening system before you buy a whole bunch of knives lol. If you feel like you have the skill buy a whetstone. If not for people like myself a guided system is a life saver.

Like others have mentioned, a consistent angle is key. Sandpaper is a cheap way to sharpen a knife. If you have an old piece of glass you can lay the sandpaper on top of it and use it like a stone. You can buy a multipack with different grits at an auto parts store. I tell people who are new to sharpening to slide the knife across the stone as is if trying to shave off a paper thin veneer. If using sandpaper dont use too much pressure or you can slice into the paper. Find your self an old leather belt at a thrift store, glue it to a chunk of wood and you have a make shift strop. Practice makes perfect, the more you do it the more it will make sense. Good luck.

With sharpening the key is consistency. If you are hitting different angles on different parts of the blade you are not going to get results.
If you wan't to get the most out of this hobby spend the cash on a decent sharpening system before you buy a whole bunch of knives lol. If you feel like you have the skill buy a whetstone. If not for people like myself a guided system is a life saver.