Why tweco 14t

Is there any reason we specifically use a Tweco 14t mig tip for our burners ?
Im a welder and I use all sorts of mig tips that are identical as far as I can tell. Just not Tweco which also happens to be the most difficult mig tip to find. Does it matter what brand I use ? .035 orrifice should be the same from brand to brand.

I thought tweco MIG guns were the most popular MIG gun ?

http://usaknifemaker.com/forging-to...es-tools-c-172-173/tweco-14t-mig-tip-035.html
Instock here

Plus
Fastenal
Airgas
Home Depot
tractor supply store
http://www.tractorsupply.com/en/store/hobart-035-contact-tip-tweco-century-lincoln-binzel-pack-of-5
Hobart .035 Contact Tip works with Tweco, Lincoln Electric Magnum, Miller Gold Seal, Craftsman, Campbell-Hausfield, Binzel. Also for Century and other brands with Tweco or Binzel-type guns.

Damn near every welding supplier and hardware store in north america has those

If you're following a set of plans, then do the mounting threads change on the other tips ?

Last edited:
Ive thought about that. Im in a somewhat remote part of northern canada. I can find Tweco here but nobody seems to carry that size. That have a lot more of all the other name brands. Could just be the area im in wouldnt surprise me. If any .035 mig tip will work I can just use some of my own and good to go. Just wonder if theres a reason ive only seen Tweco mentioned for burners.

You should be able to use any contact tip that is about the right length and screws in and is the right diameter orifice for your electrode wire; you could even make one yourself in a pinch! :D

EDIT: Oh haha I thought you were talking about a mig welding gun.

Last edited: