will d2 rust easily?

Decent in my limited experience. I lost my Morpho in the back of my car a year or so ago, and that's a pretty salty, humid environment because I worked on saltwater fishtanks for a living then. Everything metal in that car rusted up... but not the knife! It's also seen a few years use as an EDC with no problems. I've heard other hearsay that it is better than most other "non stainless" steels in that regard, but I'd be very interested in other people's opinions. I don't think it would've been a good choice when I worked on the beach or cut fish all summer though...

ive had some rust, if you get a d2 blade I would suggest getting one with a black coating

Ask the same question in the Traditional forum. Lots of owners of Queen's D2 blades there (including me). I think you'll find it doesn't ordinarily rust very easily, and patinas a little bit. It's often referred to as a 'non-stainless' steel, but it's just barely not stainless. For the most part, it does pretty well. As with any steel though, there can always be exceptions (acids, chlorides, chemicals, sweat/body chemistry can make a difference for some). And the blade's finish can also influence rust-resistance; polished blades do better.

It'll rust. Not like carbon steel where it'll go bad simply from sitting in open air, so there's no need to oil it for storage. But if you cut a piece of fruit or meat and forget to wash the blade clean it'll start pitting within the hour. Oh and D2 is notorious for pitting, so do take care of it. That being said, so long as it stays away from salt water for prolonged periods and you wipe it clean after use, it's not quite as high maintenance as say, 1095.

My personal experience is almost no maintenance. I have 2 Ontarios in D2, several Queen folders that ride in my sweaty pockets, and a Kershaw Tyrade, JYD II combo, and one other (too late to remember the name) that have no rust problems.