Workshop scissors?

Any suggestions on stronger scissors for the workshop? I have a pair of titanium kitchen shears in my maker space, but the place where I got it from doesn't stock it any more. And now I want one for the garage.

Hard to imagine anything stronger than the amazing Baronyx utility shears.
Iā€™ve got two pair of these shears, one for the shop one pair in the kitchen.šŸ˜‰. The pair in the shop get used for cutting laminate to garden trimming, just remember to wipe them down as they are carbon steel. The pair in the kitchen are a little big for the junk drawer but handy for package duty, a useful investment that will surely outlast me.

Last edited:
I've been using Cutco Shears for the last 10 years, best HD scissors I've ever owned. They also come apart for easy cleaning, and have a lifetime free resharpening service (although mine are still very sharp.) Handles are also large and comfortable. And of course, Made in USA.

I just used them the other day to make cutoff jeans; sliced through both legs of the jeans (4x layers of denim) at once, with a nice clean cut. Previous projects include snipping through Kevlar cordage, trimming kydex, and other pretty heavy cutting.

They're expensive at $117, but for me absolutely worth it.

51C-iRMdwrL._AC_SL1157_.jpg

Some hobby craft/fabric shops carry all metal scissors. If you keep an eye out for their sales you can get them 25% off or higher. That is how I bought my last 2 sets.

+2 for Cutco. Havenā€™t used them too much yet as I have only had them a month. Very well made though.

I picked up a set of MAC 8.5" Kitchen Shears for around $50 or $60 and have been very, very pleased with them. Made in the USA (Japanese company) from drop forged stainless steel. They come apart easily for cleaning, are comfortable, and sharp as all heck. So far they've done everything we've asked of them.