Y'all might think I'm crazy, but...

For starters, "it's not YOU, ... it's ME!" Nothing wrong with this knife. I simply prefer a little beefier, more hand-filling handle. Before I bought this, I looked for a loooooong time at the handle debating what I thought. I very nearly passed on the knife altogether, waiting for the FK2. But I had an idea, and I want to challenge myself. I have said elsewhere, I honestly look at the handle of a knife - any knife - to see if it would lend itself as a platform to do what I do. When I studied this knife, instead of taking a pass, I got it to see if I could rise to the (personal) challenge.

Again, no disrespect to Nathan or knock on this knife. There isn't a single detail on this, or any CPK, that isn't purposeful and performance-driven.

I just want something a little different in the handle for my personal tastes. I'll try to pull this off with excellence. I'll not alter the base knife. I have done alterations to handles and made filler pieces before to extend the tang. (In one case the maker implemented the idea on his next run of that knife.) This project will not require messing with the base knife at all.

Wish me luck, or tell me I'm an idiot. I'll keep you guys posted.

Last edited:
The handle and how it fits in your hand is the final test of a knife before use. If it does not fit well, then I don't even get to use, which really defeats the purpose in buying Nathan's knives in the first place (at least for me). I know you already know this, but take your time, plan three steps ahead of you next step, and enjoy the process. It will come together very nicely I am sure.

interesting exercise, but I think you'll find you might lose a lot of the functionality designed into the og handle. Fortunately, the base won't be changed, in which case the original handle will still be usable.