Yes, another Chef's Knife!!

Here is this week’s chef’s knife. I used my homemade natural gas forge to heat up the knife and then textured the blade with the round end of a ball-peen hammer. I heat treated though in my Evenheat oven again to 66 Rockwell at quench and tempered back to 61.

The handle wood is Mountain Mahogany, which is only slightly softer than Ironwood, and even though I have had some for a while I have never used it before but I am amazed at how beautifully this wood buffs out like glass. I sanded in stages to 2000 grit and then buffed with a dry cotton wheel and added one coat of Tung Oil and buffed again. Just wish this wood was more figured.

Barring some unforeseen problem, I am planning to sell my next chef’s knife. This weekend I am heading up to Toronto to pick up some better and some stabilized wood for the knives I will be selling soon.

!cid_28b55bd3-9dcb-4889-9e1d-293ffbbce9f4@namprd22_prod_outlook.jpg

!cid_b7ecbfdd-8521-4078-a708-b8267e1b60cf@namprd22_prod_outlook.jpg

!cid_1209975d-96cb-4e80-80d3-89b4c9236044@namprd22_prod_outlook.jpg

!cid_0887e4db-9134-4e0c-8117-10c33c50ce3c@namprd22_prod_outlook.jpg

!cid_7e614dd6-eee0-48c9-aaee-536518041c77@namprd22_prod_outlook.jpg

Last edited:
Here is the wood I picked up in Toronto today.

All the wood in the first pic is stabilized.

!cid_d186ea31-534c-4007-919a-b7ecef181317@namprd22_prod_outlook.jpg

All the wood in the second photo is unstabilized. The piece on the right is Kingwood and the centre two are Cocobolo and the small piece on the left is African Blackwood I am going to use for accent bolsters.

!cid_6b2acfc5-9e8b-4f6b-8fc2-ee477720ed57@namprd22_prod_outlook.jpg

Really looking forward to next weeks knife with my new wood!!!

Last edited:
Nice knife and that wood looks sweet
Careful with that blackwood, highly toxic dust