California legal folder and automatic

I was told in California, folder blade length must be less than 3''. is that correct?
I was told in California, automatic blade length must be less than 2''. is that correct?

B8175E9D-A8CC-4C02-8C45-047A9299E9BB.jpeg

I edc a 4 inch folder in Los Angeles County. I have not encountered any issues. Your experience might be different. I make sure the clip is exposed, I don’t open it unless I’m cutting something.

There are many knowledgeable members here.. someone will chime in soon

Except for some specific illegal to carry knife types (gravity, Balisong, etc), or on school properties (blade < 2.5“) or in government buildings (< 4“), there is no blade size restriction for manual folders or openly carried fixed blades in CA. Counties are a different story.

But I’m not a lawyer, please do your own research. For example check with your Sheriff.

Both luethge and ferider are correct.

Just to reiterate-

Under California state law you can carry any size of manual folding knife, with the blade in the closed position, openly or concealed. The exceptions are as ferider mentioned (blade length limits on school property K-12, and government buildings).

But there are individual counties and cities that have their own blade length limits and laws regarding what can be carried openly.

As far as switchblades-

Under California state law a switchblade must have a blade under 2" long in order to be legal to carry on ones person anywhere in the state, including on private property, or to have in the driver/passenger area of ones vehicle in any public place.

Technically speaking, a switchblade with a blade under 2" long isn't actually considered a "switchblade" under California state law. And some counties/cities may have their own switchblade laws (for example, possession of any switchblade, of any size, is illegal in San Fransisco, SF Muni code Section 1292).