Carrying a traditional in Ireland

hornetguy

Gold Member
We are about to go to Ireland for about 3 weeks, and I read somewhere that carrying a pocket knife is not allowed.... that doesn't seem right to me, so I thought I'd ask any of our UK folks what to expect? Do I have to go for 3 weeks without a pocketknife? Or are there just restrictions on blade length, etc....?

When we went to England and Scotland about 15 years ago, I carried pocketknives with no issues.... I realize laws change, so I figured you guys could clarify for me....

Thanks ahead of time....

I’m no expert, and I have never been to Ireland, so this is in no way legal advice, but here’s what I’ve gathered from a bit of quick research:

First, remember that Ireland is not part of the United Kingdom. So the laws are not the same.

In the UK, you can carry any non-locking pocket knife with a blade less than 3 inches without having to have a valid reason for carrying it.

From what I could find, you cannot carry any knife in Ireland unless you have a valid reason for doing so. I don’t believe there’s a list of valid reasons, so if you ever found yourself having to explain to a law enforcement officer your reason for carrying one, I think it would be up to the discretion of the officer whether that reason for carrying one is valid or not.

Personally, if it were me, I would probably carry something excessively tame, like a SAK, and be sure to behave myself. 😉 But again — not legal advice.

Hope you have a great time!