Suggestions for a sharpener?

TCW

Hi,
I'd like to get a sharpening stone of some sort. I'm new to sharpening, and it would be for a few folders that I own - 2 have 50/50 serrations and 2 are plain blades. Shopuld a get a stone or a gadget that you run your knife through. For the serrated edges should I get one of those rods that narrows and comes to a point?

Thanks!
TCW:)

This gets asked alot. The search function will give you many hours of reading on the topic.

That said, I think you'll find that the Spyderco Sharpmaker 204 is widely praised around here. It'll sharpen just about anything you have in home or shop and is relatively easy to use.

BTW, Welcome aboard!

Hi TCW. This is my first post, but on a subject I have some experience with. You should definitely get a stone and practice the basics of sharpening. There are several resources available here at BladeForums and elsewhere to help you. After that, you can't go wrong with a Spyderco Sharpmaker 204. I have used a clamp-on system like the Gatco and Lansky and got good results. They seem to me though to be somewhat time consuming. (can you spent too much time sharpening?):) I now use the Sharpmaker almost exclusively. The only drawback might be that the sharpening angles are pre-set with just two choices. The Spyderco is very easy to set up and use. I would call it fun to use. It will put a great edge on everything you own, including the serrations. Doesn't cost an arm and a leg either.
I'm sure others will chime in with more definitive info.
I have to tell the rest of you that I'm stoked to be part of this forum that I've enjoyed reading over the last year.

Mike

I prefer bench stones. I can sharpen pretty much any tool no matter how big or small with the different stones I've accumulated over time.