First attempt at hollow grind

egally08

Gold Member
I decided to try a few different things with this knife. This is my first attempt at the hollow grind, and also my first attempt to completely round the handles.

I also took my time trying to get my fit and finish better then my first couple knives.

The tang of the blade is looking better then my first few knives, and it is completely smooth with no lumps, but it just turns dull after I shape the handles. Any advise?

On the next one drop the rear pin and try and center it move it a bit forward and put a lanyard tube on it. Keep pushing yourself every knife to get better. Good for you on trying a hollow grind. I love a nice hollow ground blade. Adds to the challenge. Keep plugging away.

What turns dull ? The wood or the steel ?

Hey thank you for the input. I had some hiccups with the holes. My first couple knives, I used 1/8th pins, and I just messed these up this time. It seems so trivial, but I cannot get them exactly centered. No matter which way I measure from, nothing seems even.

I took the advise of, getting everything done before putting the handles on, and it turned out a lot better. Except, the blade tang itself had a nice shine to it, and then when I shaped the handles, it just took it away. I think one of the problems is, I don't have a small wheel. I have to use a drum sander on my drill press, and I cannot get the shine like I could with a nice sharp belt.

I really like the hollow grind, and I want to stick with it, even if it means more hand sanding at the end.

Also, when it comes to rounding the handles, is their an easier way, short of hours of hand sanding? I initially cut a bevel around the outside of the handles, and then just rounded everything out by hand. Took at least 4 hours.