guided sharpeners for straight razors?

I just bought my first ever straight razor.

It is shave ready apparently but when the time comes to do more than just stropping I wonder if a guided sharpener will work? Was thinking I could clamp the steel at the exposed tang/shank adjacent to the blade and sharpen that way?

Any recommendation on sharpening angle or stone progression. I have venev stones up to F1200 and gunny juice w strop. I know this is not a traditional approach to sharpening straight razors.

Total beginner with straight razors.

No need. Razors are sharpened laying flat on the stone. Add a layer of tape on the spine to protect it from wear. Buy a decent set of synthetic stones to start and a couple of old razors off ebay for practice. You’ll need stones up to 10-12,000 grit for finishing.

The cheap digital magnifiers that plug into a computer are extremely helpful and money well spent. $30 - $40 models are good enough.

Then practice, a lot. I sharpened every night for weeks before really developing a true hair popping edge. A great edge makes shaving so much easier. Now my edge is ready when it tree tops hair a 1/4” - 3/8” off the skin, it is doable.

Use light pressure and don’t get in a hurry. Sharpening a razor is much slower than sharpening a knife, and will improve your sharpening skills overall.

Also, buy one of Tony Miller’s beginner horsehide stops with linen backing. You’ll cut it up and it still will work fine. Then buy a fresh new one from him down the line.

Once everything settles into place in a few months, shaving will with a straight will be a real treat.

Badgerandblade.com has a great subforum for sharpening straight razors.

Last edited: