……

Martin Pullen of Granbury, Texas worked with 440C steel. His page in an Old Knifemakers Guild book said he was self taught.

Martin Pullen was a good friend of mine was a pallbearer at his funeral. I also own quite a few of his knives. He worked in a lot more than 440c in fact pretty much got away from it. I even have a couple of Stellite folders he did for me cussed me for 6 months about they wore out 4 sanding belts shaping the blades. Spent a lot of time with him in his shop in Granbury at Murles Gunsmith Shop.

Can answer some general questions about him if needed. One thing about his knives--he made everything for them himself which in today's market is not that common even had his own HT oven. I loved mastodon scales especially the blue and green outer bark. Martin did too so if you see a knife with it do not be surprised. :)

im curious about his blade markings. of the two i have, they both have different marks. any wisdom on this issue?

Need to see pics. Will then look at mine. I have seen him stamp them post a pic if you can.

one of them is in the first post. i will get some shots of the other

I looked at 12 in the safe so far and none have the large marking you are showing. Also, and please do not take this the wrong way. Martin was a perfectionist and look at the fit and finish of the picture here. Every knife I have, a lot of my friends have and the ones I watched him build were perfect period and did not have that large marking.

Sorry this site will not allow me to upload pics. Send me a PM with your email and I will send it to you.

I looked at 12 in the safe so far and none have the large marking you are showing. Also, and please do not take this the wrong way. Martin was a perfectionist and look at the fit and finish of the picture here. Every knife I have, a lot of my friends have and the ones I watched him build were perfect period and did not have that large marking.