100% new to leather and wanting to get started gathering what's needed to make sheath

KnuckleDownKnives

Time to make the doughnuts..
As the title states I want to get started in making leather sheaths. I have zero experience with leather but I do know how to sew. I've been making knives now for a little over a year, and the direction I've found myself after this last one, I want to be able to make leather sheaths as kydex is really not suitable for the type of knive I want to start making. I'm not abandoning them all together, but leather would suit much better.

I have not leather tools as of now and don't know where to start other than I'd rather but individual tools vs a kit/set of tools I don't really need. What type of leather to buy, as much information anyone is willing to help with is much appreciated.

Sorry if this has been covered before but this is new territory for me and not sure where to start. I'm a fast learner and don't think it will be very hard once I get a good nudge in the right direction.

Thanks in advance,
Marc

Get Paul Long DVD's best money you will ever invest in the leather world. It's nice to have good tools but the knowledge is where Paul's DVD's will help you get started

I was in your shoes a few years ago Marc, needed to make a sheath but didn't have the first clue about where to start. I think I got pretty lucky by stumbling on Ian Atkinson's youtube channel. In my opinion it's the best free video instruction for the beginner to intermediate level leatherworker. His more recent videos are not about sheaths, but he does make some in his older vids. But the skills he's showing you can be used on pretty much any leather project, and he has specific videos on tools and materials.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTfMRaVyCd4&t=2323s

Paul, who posted above me, sells DVDs specific to sheathmaking. I haven't bought one, but a lot of people here rave about them, so that'd be another option.