A Full House (Aces and Kings) a Quintet of Old English Barlows.

Johnnythefox

Gold Member
I sat in the very occasional Sun (wind blowing) in my garden today and gave a further clean and tune up of my 2 latest Barlows.

No radio, no distractions just me and my thoughts,as I am empty headed it was very peaceful. 😁

A steel brush seens to work best along with a little careful use of emery paper.

My aim was a smooth mechanism and to be able to read the tangs and improve the appearance but keep the patina.

Then I polish the steel and flush with my garden hose,finally drying with a cloth (plus the sun and wind).

I am not good at sharpening, but these 2 where easy and took no time,yes I know some people could do better.😅

I even managed to profile the tip of the CJ blade to look as it should,It is a litle pround but not enough to cut you or worry about.

These little double sided stones are brilliant, they even put a strop on the case of the latest batch.

I see these as working knives to do small cutting tasks and as such these 2 though not perfect are well up to the job.

I say not perfect, but to me that makes them perfect as I like old and used that I can carry on using.

It is also interesting to see how a design that on paper is the same has so many variants.

I think I prefer the rounded bolsters, but there is bits of both I like a lot.

Check the last photos of the CJ to see how the tip looks now.

Any hints or tips are most welcome.

Nice job 👍