Battleblades katana review

I finally made my decision about getting a katana. This is the senshi erai hito katana from battleblades. I actually had a chance to talk with the owner of the brand and buy directly from him, I have had contacts with him many times before. The brand is new and I think it deserves attention.

I'm sorry about the quality of the pictures, it is dark now where I live and my equipment does not allow high quality pictures. The pattern on the steel is stunning and I must wait to get better light. The pictures don't do justice to the sword.

I had a proper chance to handle the weapon and talk with the seller. To start with, I have limited experience of katana's, mostly I have trained european sword arts for many years in the past. Then I had a chance to handle and also cut with good quality weapons, longswords, arming swords and italian style sideswords. True, my training is naturally mostly with blunt swords. These days I train kenjutsu occasionally. Still I have had a chance to handle some Hanwei and Cold Steel katanas and see their quality myself. Take anything I say about katana's with a pinch of salt and judge yourself.

The overall quality of this katana is in my opinion very good. The blade is well done. The bohi is symmetrical on both sides, hamon well visible and so is the folding pattern. I like the small, simple tsuba. Kashira and fuchi are simple and stylish. I'm not so sure about the yellow same but it goes well with the colour of the ito. The seller and the website say ito is silk, I have no way to say if this is true. Anyway it feels like good quality material. Ito is tight, not super tight, I can just move it by pressing hard with fingers. The wrapping pattern is not totally even and that can be critisised. Tsuka construction is solid, there is no movement in any parts. The habaki and seppa have some patterning, which is a nice addition. Everything is fitted well.