Christmas Gift

Hey all, brand new to these forums. Came here looking for advice, i purchased a knife a while back but recent broke the handle, the blade itself is still good and 440 steel, what i want to do is to extend the handle portion and carve a new wooden handle so i can give it to a close friend as a Christmas present. The attached pictures show both the blade and the second piece of 440 steel i want to extend the handle with, have already stripped the paint off of the blade now i just need to learn how to weld the two pieces together. Any tips would be greatly appreciated as i have little experience in this matter.

http://i1293.photobucket.com/albums/b597/Jonathan_Fequet/001_zpse5561182.jpg

Welcome to Bladeforums.

You will be best to get him another present.

To fix that blade, you will have to weld on a new tang extension, grind it smooth, shape it, then install a new handle. From the fact that you asked this question, I will assume you don't know how to do any of these things. Even when done you will have a very mediocre knife.

Unless you know a local knifemaker with the equipment and experience to do the tang work for you, you will be far better off to use the next three weeks making him a carved Santa/fish/animal or some other handmade present.

Welding stainless steel is not for beginners. I suggest you buy a blade ,one already heat treated and make a nice handle for it .

Thank you both for the welcome and the advice given, but i'm looking just for how this can be done not just gift ideas. There's a lot of sentimental value behind getting her specifically the knife using the parts there, rather than just carving something or buying another knife. I have access to both acetylene torches and an arc welder if those would be simpler than a conventional forge.