Photos Copper strip on blade

CDrTxiGDG3k
Hi guys. I am new in knifemaking and i would like to know how is possible to make copper colour strip trough the blade. I can’t find anything on internet. I have tried ferric chloride with brass shavings but i washed whole that copper patina and blade was just covered with black oxides. Any ideas? Thank you

It's a layer of Cu between layers of steel
It is forged
Since the forge welding temp is up around 2100F to 2200F, and copper melts <2,000F how do you keep the copper from being molten and running out from between layers of steel?

You could cut a groove in the steel and peen a thin and narrow strip of copper or bronze into it. After that, file it down. Same way as when engraving brass or silvernickel into wood handles.

Since the forge welding temp is up around 2100F to 2200F, and copper melts <2,000F how do you keep the copper from being molten and running out from between layers of steel?

you can forge weld at 1700-1800 degrees (even colder with a big enough press). There a good number of copper San Mai billets out there

Dion Damascus is making some with copper. Its between nickle foil. One of his limitations is how hot the steel gets for HT and making sure its under the melting temp of copper.

Here's a video of inlaying soft metal into steel. Depending on hardness it might be quite tricky.

Peter ( I'm guessing that is your name from ptrkgrgr),
A description of exactly what you want and a sketch/drawing would help us a lot.

Also, filling out your profile with your location would help.

you can forge weld at 1700-1800 degrees (even colder with a big enough press). There a good number of copper San Mai billets out there
I had no idea copper could be forged welded with steel, but I'm no expert at forge welding at all. I've used nickel strips between layers of San Mai and Damascus, but the melting point of nickel is over 2600°F so that's pretty easy.