Dog Attacks & Getting tracked by them.

Two subjects.

I have been gathering information on this for a few years, any new nuggets of information out there regarding defense against dogs? Unarmed, knife, stick, whatever...

If you are being tracked by them, how do you avoid them. I have heard a few different ways, I can tell you pepper won't work as far as I have gathered from the experts on this, what do you guys have in store as a response?

I'm no expert, but I have had 2 run ins with wild (feral?) dogs. The first while mid-winter squirrel hunting in upstate NY. They were running a deer & when they passed me,they stopped, bared their teeth from a crouch with their tails between their legs. All bad signs. A blast from my 12 Ga. (over their heads) got them on their way. I was very glad that I had the gun.
2nd time we were in eastern PA, playin' in a water fall & didn't hear the dogs coming. Obviously not pets, all mangey and scruffy. Again they were approaching in a crouch, teeth bared, etc. This time we were unarmed & barefoot. My buddy and I collected a hand full of stones each, identified the Alpha dog and started chunkin' all of the rocks at him, about 10-15 yards away. Hit him once or twice and he left and the rest followed.
Now I don't go hiking without a good staff and a sheath knife.
I also had a run in with a city homeless/bum dog that grabbed me by the pants leg and I had to beat him off with my fishing rod!

------------------
In the long run, luck is given only to the effecient.
-Helmut Von Moltke

A way to avoid being tracked by dogs is to travel up a stream (in the water). This washes away the scent and the dogs can't smell you anymore (or so I've heard). It makes sense.

CAman

Hello