Emerson Mach 1?

Anyone have any experience with the Mach 1? I think that I may go for it, but I'm kinda new to knives, but think that that may be a treat.

Hi Anklepocket, Welcome to the forums!

If you do a search here on "emerson", you'll have enough reading material to last you for about 3 days, and that's before you even make the journey over to the emerson forum here on BF.com.

I like emersons, the way they look, the WAVE feature etc. I don't like chisel grinds, except for specific uses. I think the Mach 1 comes with the emerson V grind, which is a slightly modified chisel grind. For a general utility knife, i would look elsewhere.

Your best bet is to find a knife shop in your area where you can look at a few different knives, and decide what you like.

Again, welcome.

James

------------------
My Home Page (writings)

The beast we are, lest the beast we become.

I owned a Mach 1. While I lile the overall design, I got rid of it for a few reasons. Number One: Overpriced/Overhyped. Number Two: Dull. It was as dull as a cheap knock off knife. My model had a Chromium Nitrate coating and sharpended only on one side, but it was not sharp at all. Also, the coating wore off the blade just below the thumb disc after 1 day of cycling the knife. I didn't think the oils on my thumb would affect the silver coating like that.

Hi!
As a total Emerson fan i just wanted to comment on Mr. El Cid's comments.
The chisel ground blades tend to not feel as sharp as conventional grinds, but they cut like crazy
eek.gif
i don't like chisel grinds though, i'm an ass in sharpening'em.
I've had a commander with the coating, and i don't think that the coating wear that easy, rather the opposite, if it wore that easy it was a lemon, but i did notice that the finish did get strange "smears" from touching it with my hands, they came off easy but i thought that the finish was damaged at first too.
Don't own a Mach, handled one breifly, like the shape/feel but i miss the wave on it.